Rearrangement for violin of the work for clarinet and piano opus 407
Published by: Highbridge Music Ltd
Commissioned by: Madeleine Mitchell
Duration: 14 mins


26th April 2022 Lana Trotovcek (violin), Howard Blake(piano), Midday concert in Chapel Royal Brighton (1.00pm)

1. Solo violin Prelude from 'Benedictus' op.643

2. Sonata for violin and piano in three movements:op.169

  • 1:  Allegro Moderato - 6 minutes 16 seconds
  • 2:  Lento espressivo - 6 minutes 20 seconds
  • 3:  Vivace - 7 minutes 14 seconds
3. Six Romantic Pieces (first performance)

(Themes of some of Howard's famous films, arranged for violin and piano:)

Laura's theme from 'The Duellists'

Music Box theme from 'The Changeling'

Dulcibella from 'The Riddle of the Sands'

Romance from 'Agatha'

Main theme from 'Gentlefolk' (a BBC Play of the Month)

'Walking in the Air' from 'The Snowman' op.711

Related Works

'THE HAPPY PRINCE' op.165 (June 1973)
A film project that vanished
'*DANCES FOR TWO PIANOS (2-stave version - separate parts 1 & 2)' op.217 (March 1976) (Audio Sample Available)
A concert suite in 9 movements
'*AGATHA' op.265 (April 1978)
Musical direction and composer of a full orchestral score for the feature film starring Dustin Hoffman and Vanessa Redgrave, directed by Michael Apted
'*THE RIDDLE OF THE SANDS' op.271 (December 1978) (Audio Sample Available)
Score for the feature film of Erskine Childers' novel directed by Tony Maylam (Michael York, Francesca Annis)
'*THE CHANGELING' op.274 (January 1979)
Theme music (the music-box theme) for the feature film starring George C.Scott. Director Peter Medak
'GENTLE FOLK' op.288 (October 1979)
Score for a BBC TV film directed by Rodney Bennett
'SIX ROMANTIC PIECES' op.407 (February 1990)
Concert suite for clarinet & piano

[Back to top]