Details of published CD, DVD, Video and LP recordings of the works of Howard Blake.

Use the search form to filter results, search by keyword, title, artists or related opus number.

A full list of all of Howard's works which have been recorded (though not necessarily published or made available for sale) can be found here.

Show recordings in
released by
available from
Sort by

Violin Concerto "The Leeds", A Month In The Country, Sinfonietta (CD)

Released: 1994
Recorded: 1994
Artists: Christine Edinger (violin), Paul Daniel (conductor), English Northern Philharmonia
Categories: [Brass Ensemble] [Concertos] [Film & TV Scores] [String Orchestra] [String Quartet]
Available from:
ASV Records
ASV Records
Released by: ASV

Christiane Edinger is the soloist in Howard Blake's emotionally-charged Violin Concerto, an inspired performance "caught on the wing" to join a select group of very special first recordings. Conducted by Paul Daniel with the English Northern Philharmonia, the album includes the eloquent and moving suite for string orchestra, "A Month In The Country", the film which starred the young Colin Firth and Kenneth Branagh and concludes with the bold and original "Sinfonietta For Brass".

Related Opuses


  • 1) Allegro Assai
  • 2) Adagio
  • 3) Allegro con Brio
  • 4) Idyll
  • 5) March
  • 6) Elegy
  • 7) Scherzo
  • 8) Finale
  • 9) Maestoso
  • 10) Lento Serioso
  • 11) Presto
  • 12) Maestoso - Allegro Vivace

[Back to top]